CentOS 6.0 Review


As you all know, I had installed CentOS 6 inside VirtualBox. I was initially thinking about installing it natively on my system, but then, the thought of reinstalling the OS & configuring the settings again came to my mind and I decided to go virtual. So, here’s the hardware on which I installed CentOS 6 (32-bit) :-

  • 2 virtual cores
  • 1024 MB RAM
  • 64 MB of VRAM
  • 10 GB VBOX HDD
  • Bridged network connection (so that I can manage it as a network computer)

Installation :-

I made an ISO of the DVD which I got from Linux for You. Although I had also downloaded a 64-bit image earlier, but I felt that 32-bit should suffice for the needs of the virtual machine. The installer greets you with the ultra-stable and famous Anaconda Installer from Red Hat & Fedora stables. This installer, as you know is very versatile. It asks you to check the install media. It is a good idea to do so. Once, the check is finished, it moves on to the patition management. Now, here it will provide you with a lot of options like RAID, LVM etc. If you want to setup a LVM (which I think you should if you’re doing a native one-OS-per-system install), then it will guide you through the entire process. RAID is essential for the system admins & servers. But, if you don’t want any of these options, then select ‘Basic Storage Devices’  and move on. Now, here you can carry out standard Linux partition management. 

Once, you’ve finished the partition & root-password, then it will ask you which packages to install. If you’ve a fast internet connection then you can download & install the packages later, if you haven’t got your hands on high bandwidth then click on ‘Customize now’  and start selecting your packages. These are the packages that I selected :-

  • GNOME 2.32
  • OpenOffice.Org (it doesn’t ships LIbreOffice for now)
  • Firefox
  • Thunderbird
  • Development libraries
  • Development tools

It will automatically choose which packages you need for your hardware. Just hit install now & relax. It should install in 20-30 minutes.

 

The Desktop :-

The desktop of CentOS 6 depends on which desktop environment you selected. I’m a huge fan of GNOME desktop environment so I selected this. Here’s the screenshot of my desktop environment :-

Package management :-

The package management is taken care by YUM. It is the default package manager of Red Hat, Fedora, CentOS & Scientific Linux now. Yum is very, very powerful tool. It can perform almost any task that you can think from a package manager. Some of it’s commands are listed below :-

  • yum install package (to install package)
  • yum remove package (to remove package)
  • yum search package (to search)
  • yum update
  • package-cleanup –old-kernels (to remove old kernels)

Tip :-

Run yum install yum-presto after running your system for the first time in the terminal. It will install DeltaRPMs & Presto package that will reduce the update size by almost 90%. It is a very useful and handy tool for everybody. Conserve bandwidth people.

Additional repos for yum – You can try out some extra repositories for CentOS from here :- http://wiki.centos.org/AdditionalResources/Repositories/RPMForge

Verdict :-

CentOS 6.0 is highly recommended to anybody who is serious about the stability & security of his workstation. Although it is also good for home users, but I think that one should first have some experience with LInux before using CentOS. My rating :- 4.5/5.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Damien says:

    I blog frequently and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your blog and keep
    checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  2. my link says:

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into
    any browser compatibility issues? A couple of my blog
    readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in
    Firefox. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

    1. Tarun Brari says:

      No. Don’t worry about the users of IE. They’re using an outdated browser (except IE 10). You can put up a notification saying that ‘This blog looks best in Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox & Opera’.

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up
    the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

    1. Tarun Brari says:

      Thanks. It is a free theme & no modification. Just plain vanilla theme.

  4. Good way of telling, and nice paragraph to get data
    regarding my presentation subject matter, which i am going to
    deliver in college.

Leave a Reply

