Enabling AVIVO Video converter’s full functionality in Windows 7


I was a long time NVIDIA user. This summer, a month back I switched loyalty to AMD and got their once flagship, ATI Radeon 4870 1 GB for as little as Rs. 9500. Initially I wanted to go for Zotac GTX 260. But it was priced high, about 1.5k more than the ATI counterpart.

The performance of the card is awesome in games. But I use the card in other fields too such as converting videos etc. Earlier, I use to encode videos using Badaboom converter which is designed on CUDA for NVIDIA. It is a mind blowing product and is worth the $20 price. Every one who owns a NVIDIA graphics card should spare some money for it too.

Then, I started converting videos with the help of ATI’s built-in AVIVO video converter. It used to give me a lot of headaches as it was unable to decode the AVI, MP4 & MKV files. It used to give me ‘Unsupported File Format’ error. Then I found a solution. Just follow these steps :-

  1. Install Shark007 codecs from http://shark007.net/ relevant to your architecture.
  2. Then, download Codec Tweaker from http://www.codecguide.com/windows7_preferred_filter_tweaker.htm.
  3. After that, start Codec Tweaker & un-select everything that is played via Microsoft. Select FFDSHOW instead.
  4. Disable Media-Foundation, it is the primary culprit.
  5. Start AVIVIO video converter via Advanced Mode‘s drop down menu.
  6. Make sure you select Enable Acceleration.
  7. Enjoy.

If you want more control over the ATI card then I suggest that you download A’s video converter from here.

Update :- As of March 1st 2011, A’s Video converter is no longer available.

Update 2 :- A’s video converter is available again. Check out this page for more details. Thanks to Coupe for the tip.

Regarding performance, just see the table below.

Source File & Size Conversion Time Final Size
175 MB TV Show 1:20 min 70 MB
700 MB Movie 5:26 min 423 MB

Click on it to get full size.

Check it out. Its worth the shot.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. anug says:

    gajab bawa

  2. sebastien.r says:

    You fucking champion!!!! So many others came close to describing a solution but you’re the only person to pinpoint the actual issue. Blog on.

  3. Pacman says:

    Thank you very much. I have been headache in trying enabling the Avivo for months since I got the 5870 card. Actually I did everything in this guide previously except “Disable Media-Foundation, it is the primary culprit.” and that why it did not work. Now it works but it does not make me completely happy. I listed several problems here and it would be great if anyone can give me suggestion to fix them.
    1) If I start Avivo from Catalyst 10.6 Control Center, it seems does not has hard ware acceleration. It runs very slow, I used a 654 DVD rip .AVI file as benchmark and choose trans coding options as “Ipod Video” and it takes me 17 minutes to finish the job which is even worse than hand Brake
    Additionally in Catalyst 10.6 there no option (or may be I cannot find out) to choose hardware acceleration option
    2) Then I choose to switch to AsVideoCv (as you pointed out here) and it actually much better than the one in CCC. It gives me many more controls. The performance really improved compare to the Avivo in CCC. It take me 4 minutes to transcode the 654 AVI file to iPod Video with speed average @ 280 fps (compared to hand Brake ~90fps on Core i7 930 2.8GHZ)
    3)However it is very weird that if I disable GPU acceleration in AsVideoConvereter and runs only on Core i7 930, the speed is faster. I can reach 430 fps for the video file. Note that when I run with the GPU acceleration CPU ~ 18% and GPU ~ 11%. If I disable GPU acceleration then CPU bump to 40%.

    The bottom line here is, the the program has not fully utilized the GPU (ATI 5870 in my case) and the performance is not so great. And I don’t know why if I run on CPU only, I can get better performance.

  4. gtouehib says:

    I don’t find anymore the a’s video converter!
    Can ou send it me by email.
    thanks

    1. Tarun Brari says:

      Sorry dude.. A’s video converter is no longer available. As for email, I switched to NVIDIA so I can’t really help you out..

  5. asda says:

    It is available again! – Just fill the survey and u can download it from the AMD Page. It still works fine for me!
    Don’t forget to reboot your computer after installing AVIVO.

  6. Coupe says:

    A’s video converter is still available!

    http://bluesky23.yu-nagi.com/en/index.html

  7. A's video converter sucks says:

    A’s video converter does not work, always says “CheckFilter failed”. No help file and readme is in japanese

  8. J says:

    Thank You for your generosity in sharing this solution!

  9. popeye says:

    I had problem that the Avivo interface would not appear in CCC with the newer drivers. Now I can access it through A’s converter interface. Thanks a lot!

  10. animation says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog visitors have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue?

    1. Tarun Brari says:

      AFAIK, I’ve never ran into a browser compatibility issue. IE is lagging behind modern browsers. You can put up a notification saying that this blog is best viewed in Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome & Opera.

  11. Can I simply say what a comfort to discover someone who actually knows what they are talking about over the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring a problem
    to light and make it important. A lot more people ought to check this out
    and understand this side of your story. I was
    surprised that you aren’t more popular because you certainly possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

